Managing Groups and Users — Organization Directory

IN THIS ARTICLE

An Organization's directory deals with Groups and Users. Users are entities (usually people) who use the system. Each group may have zero or more members. These members will assume the permissions assigned to the group on resources via roles. This article explains how to manage groups and users.

Viewing the Directory

  1. Click on the ProKnow icon in the top left corner of the page.
  2. Select Directory under Identity and Access Management.

The directory sidebar holds a hierarchy of groups that belong to the organization with a button to create groups and users at the top. Click on one of the groups to select it.

The main content area presents the details for the selected group, including the group name, the group type, and the group's list of members. In addition, there are options for editing the group, managing access to the group, and deleting the group.

Creating Groups

Note: You must have the Create Groups permission on the parent group to create a subgroup under that group.

  1. With the parent group selected from the directory sidebar, open the Create dropdown located in the sidebar header, and then press the Create Group button.
  2. Enter the Name for the group. The group name must be unique across all sibling groups.
  3. Select the Parent Group.
  4. Press the Create button to create the group.

Renaming Groups

Note: You must have the Update Groups permission on a group to rename the group.

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, press the Edit button.
  2. Enter the Name for the group. The group name must be unique across all sibling groups.
  3. Press the Save button to save your changes to the group name.

Deleting Groups

Note: You must have the Delete Groups permission on a group to delete the group.

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, press the Delete button.
  2. Read and acknowledge the notice by checking the box next to "I have read and understand the above notice."
  3. Press the Delete button to delete the selected group and all of its subgroups.

Viewing Group Members

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, activate the Members tab in the main content area.
  2. Optional: Filter the list of group members using the Filter Users text input.
  3. Optional: Include or exclude inactivate users using the Show Inactive toggle.
  4. Optional: Include or exclude members from subgroups using the Show Members from Subgroups toggle.
  5. View the list of matching group members in the table.

Adding Group Members

Note: You must have the Add Group Members permission on a group to add members to the group.

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, activate the Members tab in the main content area.
  2. Press the Add Member button.
  3. Select the User to add as a member.
  4. Press the Add button to add the user as a member of the group.

Removing Group Members

Note: You must have the Remove Group Members permission on a group to remove members from the group.

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, activate the Members tab in the main content area.
  2. Select one or more users from the table to remove from the group.
  3. Open the Actions dropdown and press the Remove Selected Users from Group... button.
  4. Press Remove to confirm that you wish to remove the users from the group. Once the operation is complete, you will see a message reporting how many users were removed. To view a detailed results report, click on the "Click here to download a results report" link which will download a CSV file containing detailed information on all removed members and any members that the system failed to remove.

Exporting Group Members

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, activate the Members tab in the main content area.
  2. Open the Actions dropdown and press the Export Users to CSV button.

Importing Group Members

Note: You must have the Add Group Members permission on a group to add members to the group. You must have the Create Users permission on the organization to create users.

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, activate the Members tab in the main content area.
  2. Open the Actions dropdown and press the Import Users from CSV... button.
  3. Begin by selecting the CSV file containing the users data. Press the Select File button to choose a file from your file system. Then press Next to continue to the next step.
  4. Associate each column in the spreadsheet with the appropriate user field. Columns that exactly match user fields will be automatically associated. Otherwise, to associate a column with a user field, choose the user field from the select box. To ignore the column, choose (Ignore) from the select box. Press Next when finished to continue to the next step.
  5. After clicking the Next button, you will be asked to acknowledge that you understand the consequences of the action you are about to perform. The acknowledgement will list how many rows were found in the spreadsheet and how many potential user records may be updated. Once you have acknowledged the potential impact by clicking on the consent checkbox, you may press the Import button to begin importing the users.
  6. Once importing is complete, you will see a message reporting how many rows were imported. To view a detailed results report, click on the "Click here to download a results report" link which will download a CSV file containing detailed information on all imported users and any that may have failed to import. Press Finish to exit the wizard.

Viewing User Details

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, activate the Members tab in the main content area.
  2. Select a single user row.
  3. Inspect user details in the User Information sidebar.

Creating Users

Note: You must have the Create Users permission on the organization to create users.

  1. Open the Create dropdown located in the directory sidebar header, and then press the Create User button.
  2. Enter the user's Name and Email.
  3. Optional: Select one or more groups to which the user should be added as a member.
  4. Press the Create button to create the user.
  5. If groups were selected in step 3, you will see a message reporting the number of groups to which the user was successfully added a member. To view a detailed results report, click on the "Click here to download a results report" link which will download a CSV file containing detailed information on each group. Press Finish to exit.

Editing Users

Note: You must have the Update Users permission on the organization to edit users.

  1. While viewing user details for a selected group member, press the Edit button located in the User Information sidebar.
  2. Modify the Name, Email, and Active fields as needed.
  3. Press the Save button to save the change to the user.

Deleting Users

Note: You must have the Delete Users permission on the organization to delete users.

  1. With a group selected from the directory sidebar, activate the Members tab in the main content area.
  2. Select one or more users from the table to delete.
  3. Open the Actions dropdown and press the Delete Selected Users... button.
  4. Press Delete to confirm that you wish to delete the selected users from the system. Once deleting is complete, you will see a message reporting how many users were deleted. To view a detailed results report, click on the "Click here to download a results report" link which will download a CSV file containing detailed information on all deleted users and any users that the system failed to delete.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.