Patient Task and Workflow Management (Checklists Tab)

IN THIS ARTICLE

The Checklists sidebar organizes tasks to be completed by users for the current patient. To view the checklists for a patient, click the Checklists tab located in the right sidebar of the patient. Checklists are organized alphabetically. To refresh the list at any time, press the refresh button located in the header of the Checklists sidebar.

Note: You must have Write Patients permission for a workspace to modify checklists for patients in that workspace.

Creating Patient Checklists

  1. Click on the Create button in the Checklists sidebar header.
  2. If you wish to create a checklist from a predefined template, choose a Template from the dropdown list. Otherwise, leave Template set to None. Then give the checklist a Name and a Description (optional). If you are creating a checklist from a template, the workflow will be disabled and will inherit the workflow assigned to the template (you can change the workflow later). However, if you are defining a template from scratch, you can also select a workflow to use when assigning templates or leave it set to None.
  3. Press the Create button to create the checklist.

Editing Patient Checklists

  1. From the list of checklists, click on the checklist you wish to edit.
  2. Press the Edit Checklist button (pencil icon) in the Details sidebar header.
  3. Update the Name, Description, and Workflow as needed, and press the Save button to save you changes.

Deleting Patient Checklists

  1. From the list of checklists, click on the checklist you wish to delete.
  2. Press the Delete Checklist button (trash icon) in the Details sidebar header.
  3. Once you've read and understood the confirmation message, press the Delete button to delete the checklist.

Viewing Checklist Details

From the list of checklists, click on the checklist to view its details.

2018-12-18_09-07-03.png

  1. At the top of the checklist details panel is the checklist summary section that includes the Status of the checklist (if it belongs to a workflow), the number of Tasks that have been marked as completed (done or exception) out of the total number of items, and information concerning who Last Updated the checklist and when the update was performed (displayed in your local timezone).
  2. The Tasks toolbar separates the checklist summary section from the list of tasks. It also contains tools for adding tasks and editing multiple tasks at once.
  3. You may see indicators aligned to the right of the task row. The document icon indicates that there is a comment associated with the note. You can hover your mouse cursor over this icon to view the comments. The box containing initials denotes a user. A green box indicates that the item was completed by the user while a gray box indicates that the item has been assigned to the user but not yet completed. Hover over the initials to view the user's full name and timestamp of when the item was assigned or completed.

Managing Tasks and Checkpoints

Once you have clicked on a checklist to view its details, use the following procedures below to interact with the task and checkpoint elements.

Tasks and Checkpoints

A task is an assignable "to do" item. In the context of a patient checklist, each checklist task is has one of four statuses: Unstarted, Started, Done, and Exception.

A checkpoint marks a break in a checklist. A checkpoint is useful for indicating a group of tasks that can be done in parallel and tasks which should be complete before moving on to another group of tasks. When used with workflows, checkpoints can also allow patient checklists to be automatically transitioned to a specific workflow state. If a checkpoint appears at the beginning of the checklist, the checklist will transition to the defined transition state once any task in the checklist has been marked as Started, Done, or Exception. If a checkpoint appears anywhere else in checklist, the checklist will transition to the defined transition state when all preceding tasks have been completed (marked as either Done or Exception).

Adding Tasks and Checkpoints

  1. Click on the Add Task or Checkpoint button (plus icon) from the Tasks toolbar.
  2. Choose the Type. The type of Task will be selected by default.

    For a task, enter a Name. You may also add a Description and Comments, set the task Status, and set the Assigned user.

    For a checkpoint, simply enter a Name, and optionally set the Transition To state if the checklist is assigned to a workflow.

  3. Press the Save button to add the new task or checkpoint.

Marking Tasks as Done

Marking a task as Done is as simple as checking the box next to the item. When this occurs, the status will change to Done, and you will be marked as the user who completed the task. To undo this operation, simply uncheck the box, which will reset the status back to Unstarted. If you wish to set the status to something other than Unstarted or Done (i.e., Started or Exception), you will need to use one of the editing methods described below.

Editing Individual Tasks and Checkpoints

  1. To edit a task, expand the row by clicking on the task name or chevron icon; then press Edit. For checkpoints, click on the Edit Checkpoint button (pencil icon).
  2. For a task, set the Name. You may also edit the Description and Comments, set the task Status, or set the Assigned user.

    For a checkpoint, you may update the Name or optionally set the Transition To state if the checklist is assigned to a workflow.

  3. Press the Save button to save the task or checkpoint.

Editing Multiple Tasks

  1. Click on the Reorder or Edit Multiple Tasks button (small pencil icon) from the Tasks toolbar.
  2. Use the checkboxes on the right to select the items you wish to edit together. With at least one item selected, press the Edit button that will appear in the Task toolbar.
  3. Select a Status and Assigned User. These values will overwrite the status and assignment for all selected tasks.
  4. Press Save to apply the changes to the selected items.

Reordering Tasks

  1. Click on the Reorder or Edit Multiple Tasks button (small pencil icon) from the Tasks toolbar.
  2. Each row has an icon on the left containing three small horizontal lines. Using this icon as a handle, identify the item you wish to reorder, and drag and drop it into its new position.
Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.